Prof. Sanjeev Mukerjee
Northeastern University

Dr. Mukerjee is a College of Science, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology (Northeastern University); where he has been since September of 1998. He also heads the centre for Renewable Energy Technology at Northeastern University (NUCRET) and its subset the Laboratory for Electrochemical Advanced Power (LEAP). This centre aims at enhancing education and research on all aspects of renewable energy and green chemistry with special emphasis on selective charge transfer at electrochemical and photo-electrochemical interfaces. His research on charge transfer dynamics at both two and three dimensional electrochemical interfaces encompasses materials development, in situ synchrotron spectroscopy and electro-analytical methods. Peer reviewed publication currently number 158, with an H-factor of 67. The current projects in the group include materials development for new electrocatalysts, polymer electrolyte membranes and high energy density (and capacity) cathode materials for aqueous and non-aqueous storage cells. Fundamental understanding of structure property relationships is in concert with applications.
Among various recognitions are the Klein Lectureship (2009), and Excellence of Research and Creativity (2012) and College Distinguished Professorship (2015) at Northeastern University, University Research Professorship (Ford Motor Co.,) and Fellow of the Electrochemical Society (2014).
Translational activities in concert with fundamental research have led to creation of three startup companies, Encite Corp, Burlington, MA, Protonex Corp., Westboro, MA and Pajarito Powders (Albuquerque, NM). He serves on the scientific advisory board of Trenergy (Boston, MA), Advent Technologies (Boston, MA), Airing (Marlboro, MA) and the National Hellenic Research Foundation (Athens, Greece). Federal funding comes from the Department of Defense, Department of Energy (EERE and Arpe.e), National Science Foundation, Air Force Office of Scientific Research and National Institute of Technology-Advanced Technology Program.



Prof. Andreas Friedrich
University of Stuttgart and Electrochemical Energy Technology Department at the German Aerospace Center

Dr.  Friedrich is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at University of Stuttgart and the Head of the Electrochemical Energy Technology Department at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Stuttgart, Germany. His research areas are electrochemical energy conversion and storage, in particular polymer electrolyte fuel cells, solid oxide fuel cells, system design and optimization and advanced lithium batteries. Dr. Friedrich has authored and coauthored about 210 reviewed papers. He received the Fischer medal (Dechema) in 2009 and the Ertl prize 2014 for his scientific work.
Dr. Friedrich has an initial background in Physics and Physical Chemistry. Starting with early fundamental work on electrochemical interfaces and electrocatalysts the research has become increasingly application oriented. His doctoral study on non-linear optics at electrochemical interfaces was performed at the Fritz-Haber Institute of the Max-Planck-Society from 1987 –1990 under the supervision of Prof. Dr. G. Ertl (Nobel prize laurate in Chemistry).
His former employments include research associate positions at University of Oregon and Research Center Jülich. Senior scientist positions were held at Technical University Munich and ZSW (Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research) in Ulm. In 2004 he joined the DLR and University of Stuttgart heading the group focussing on electrolysers, fuel cells and advanced batteries. Priorities are polymer membrane and solid oxide technology as well as “beyond Li-ion” technology in batteries. The primary goals of the group comprise enhanced power density, long lifetime, reduction of precious materials and manufacturing costs, identification of degradation mechanisms in stacks and their prevention, advanced stack design, and optimised integration of fuel cells into energy supply systems. The activities of the group have received the f-cell Award in Silver 2016 for electrolysis components, the Clean Tech Media Award 2012 (Aviation) and the f-cell Award in Silver 2008 (DLR with Airbus).

© 2017 HYPOTHESIS Series